Of Sonnets and Diversions.

Hello there! It’s day 3 of NaPoWriMo 2015 and you can find today’s prompt here. A Fourteener! How ever, today I’m going slightly off course with Amanda Torroni’s prompts instead. Her words are beautiful. Go have a look.

So my theme for today is to incorporate the line-‘ I never wrote a sonnet’ in my work. Consequently I looked up everything from the history of sonnets to a fourteener and now my head is filled with terms like Iambic heptameter and even my syllables are stressed. (Pun intended) -No don’t go away I’m done with the puns. (almost)

And so without further ado, Let me tell you about how…

I never wrote a sonnet,

But I read Shakespeare’s, they’re swell,

I also never wore a bonnet,

In old England, they’d have given me hell.

When I look back now,

Through history and time,

I wonder whence and how,

I got a fear of rhyme.

Beneath the veil of verses so obscure,

Is our wish to remain,

Of our memories secure,

our thoughts, drunk on champagne

Far be it from me to seem dreadfully ironic,

Never more shall I say, I never wrote a sonnet.

For those who may notice, yes that is a sonnet. Yes it is in the style of shakepeare. Yes, that is a dante reference. I couldn’t resist. See you tommorow!

One thought on “Of Sonnets and Diversions.

  1. […] Second Chance A Collection of Thoughts from Yesterday’s Tomorrow – Conversations Angrezikabutar – Of Sonnets and Diversions ALICE-CATHERINE – Poetry at the Post: 14 Lessons From a Visit to the House of Terror […]

Leave a Reply

