The Daily Post:Seconds!

The daily prompt is Seconds. So now I get to describe the most glorious meal I’ve eaten,in detail. To say that I am happy is an understatement.

Dinner at the Tasting Room. Artfully decorated with wine red walls and beautiful wooden furniture, I knew this was going to be a good meal before I even sat down. And oh my,what a meal it was.

We started with Crackers with Brie cheese and apricot jam. Let me tell you this, Brie is rightly called the Queen of Cheese. On a crisp cracker with just enough jam to taste but not nearly enough to overpower the cheese, it was like a foodgasm, if I may be so bold as to use that expression. It was light,fresh and the perfect beginning.
Following it up was my choice of Kafir lime and Mascarpone Risotto. Mainly because Risotto has never been on my favourites and I wanted to see if the opinion could be changed. Clearly, It could. The rice was thick but not gluggy and the dish was not even close to the heaviness you’d expect from the mascarpone cream and the base Risotto. The kafir lime cut through the cream beautifully, leaving you with a fresh taste in your mouth. You could truly savour every mouthful. The smooth texture,the creamy experience ending with a burst of lime, my feet are halfway out the door already!

And we havent even come to the best part. Dessert. I am a shameless dessert hog.I could very easily skip the main to have more room for dessert. But I don’t. No,really. Of course not.
Anyway dessert, a simple enough dish.
But in reality, it was these three words that changed my life.

Sour.
Cherry.
Sorbet.

I can feel my taste buds start to dance,singing Hallelujah!
Served in a martini glass,two scoops of perfect,dark purple, gooey,goodness. Sour and tangy,just exploding in your mouth. Every bite tasted just a little different from the slightly spiced sorbet. A bit of cinnamon,maybe some cardamom,and a wonderful after taste of pepper,just the slightest hint,to keep you guessing what it was. I loved that sorbet. It’s the kind of dish you have dreams about.

It was amazing.
It was perfect.
It was Glorious.

7 thoughts on “The Daily Post:Seconds!

  1. […] The Daily Post:Seconds! | Angrezikabutar […]

  2. […] The Daily Post:Seconds! (angrezikabutar.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] 9.The Daily Post:Seconds! | Angrezikabutar – https://angrezikabutar.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/the-daily-postseconds/ 10.Daily Bread: Seconds | Sammy’s Moleskine – […]

  4. […] The Daily Post:Seconds! | Angrezikabutar […]

  5. […] The Daily Post:Seconds! | Angrezikabutar […]

  6. […] 7. A Truly Satisfying Meal | Tony’s Texts 8. Daily Prompt: Seconds! | cognitive reflection 9. The Daily Post:Seconds! | Angrezikabutar 10. Daily Bread: Seconds | Sammy’s Moleskine 11. Writing challenge: Seconds | La chica de la […]

Leave a Reply

