Break the rules.

Rules are commonly accepted standards of behaviour from a society. They supposedly save us from a world of Anarchy and Chaos. I get that,I do. There has to be some boundary somewhere. The problem here lies in the fact that Rules don’t allow for emotional leeway. People who follow these diligently may often find themselves..stuck, shall we say? 

Rules do not allow Creativity.

Rules restrict Passion.

Rules,sometimes, make you reconsider that which you know to be right for you.

The Passion in me wants to break free.To do precisely what I want,simply because I can. And it’s true,you know? Rules are commonly accepted standards,not necessarily followed ones. I’m just thinking about how to put this subtly but then I realize,that’s an ingrained Rule by now..”Be Diplomatic.Don’t come on too strong.Show both sides of the story.”

Guess what? I don’t want to.

I want to be able to say exactly what I want. And here it is-I think that too many rules strangle you.I believe they breed ignorance.They condition us to want only that which they think acceptable. I believe in breaking free from the mould with the small everyday things.

Have Hot Pink shoelaces.

Dye your Hair green.

Proclaim your love for Pride and Prejudice in a room full of sports junkies.

Make Harry Potter references to those poor muggles who will never know the significance of ‘Always.’

Bunk an important class because there’s an amazing place where you get chocolate smoothies,about 5 minutes away from college.

Call that person at the back of your mind to tell them,they’re amazing,even if you’re just acquaintances.

Be odd. Be anything but Commonplace. Cut loose from those who bring you down,you don’t have to stay with them because they were your people once.

You know that amazing girl you see when you’re walking down the street? The one waltzing to her own tune in the middle of the path? The one who’s carrying a purple backpack worn down and hanging by threads? The one who gives you a big smile when she sees you staring,instead of the regular 3 seconds on eye contact?

I am that girl.The one who believes in breaking the everyday rules,in creating my own niche irrespective of what people think.in not apologizing for myself and my thoughts.

I am a girl who can breathe.

***************

part 2 of the Life is short series.©Angrezikabutar

One thought on “Break the rules.

  1. Shareen says:

    I love this. So inspirational.

Leave a Reply

